Fifa Women's World Cup

The Fifa Women’s World Cup 2019 began on June 8th (last Friday) with an opening game between the host, France(4 x 0) against South Korea. This will be only the eighth edition of the women's tournament, which began in 1991. However, even before kick-off, there is no doubt that no other World Cup has so many attention, appeal, and revenue. Tickets went sold out months before the competition begins. In its most lowkey projections, FIFA expects to reach 1 billion people in 135 countries.

A game for equality

In spite of the great repercussion, the hiatus between men and women still sounds embarrassing in football. One of the calls is the award paid by FIFA to the participating teams of the World Cup. The federation doubled the amount of the prizes compared to the last edition, but the amount does not reach 1% of the amount destined for the men's teams in 2018. World Cup Champion’s, The France Male Team received 38 million dollars. If the French girls also become champions, the women's national team will only have 4 million.

Canada Squad


Canada’s official squad will compete in their seventh consecutive FIFA Women’s World Cup™ building on the program’s existing foundation and peaking towards the best possible performances on the world’s biggest stage.

Canada is just four years removed from a Quarter-finals finish at the record-breaking FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015™, played from coast to coast across Canada. That competition provided unprecedented exposure for women’s football in Canada and around the world, attracting a worldwide television audience of more than 750 million viewers. Once again in 2019, fans will be able to watch every match live in Canada on CTV and TSN.

“We are going there to win it, but we have been very good at taking things one step at a time,” said Kenneth Heiner-Møller, Canada Soccer’s Women's National Team Head Coach and Women’s National EXCEL Director. “We didn’t look beyond the Algarve Cup and we didn’t look beyond matches against England or Spain; we only looked at what was right in front of us. Right now, there are three group matches in front of us and we are focused very clearly on Cameroon, New Zealand, and the Netherlands.”

The road to the trophy

Stay tuned to the games schedule. Following Canada’s debut was this Monday (10 June) against Cameroon. In the city of Montpellier, our girls won by a minimum score of 1 x 0. Kadeisha Buchanan’s first-half header gave Canada the victory over Cameroon in Group E at the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019™.

Canada will face New Zealand on 15 June in Grenoble and Netherlands on 20 June in Reims.


Beyond the group phase, two or three nations from Canada’s group will advance to the Round of 16 with those initial knock-out matches to be played from 23-25 June. Beyond the Round of 16, the Quarter-finals are 27-29 June, the Semi-finals are 2-3 July, and the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019™ Final on 7 July.

Olympic Medal Winners & Concacaf Champions

Canada are two-time Olympic bronze medal winners (2012 and 2016) and two-time Concacaf champions (1998 and 2010). In all, Canada have participated in seven consecutive editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ (1995 to 2019) and three consecutive editions of the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament (2008 to 2016). At Rio 2016, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team were the first Canadian Olympic team to win back-to-back medals at a summer Olympic Games in more than a century.

Let's support our girls to become world champions, let's show that, female soccer is amazing and it deserves respect and equality. Good Luck Girls!

Much Love ♥

Share this post

Leave a comment

Note, comments must be approved before they are published